Management Committee

CHAIRPERSON | Yasmine Lewis

Yasmine became involved with BYDS through the Bankstown Poetry Slam. An accomplished spoken word poet, she has been invited to various events throughout Australia including the ‘Write on the World Series Tour’ alongside Mark Gonzales, Harmony Week’s Poetry and Comedy Under the Stars and International Women’s Day for Zonta International. As well as running many spoken word workshop she is rightfully highly regarded in the scene, recently becoming a State Finalist in the Australian Poetry Slam. She has a degree in Law and Social Science and is looking to continue her studies next year.

Treasurer | Don Smith

Don has a BA (Accounting) and an MBA and has worked in Human Resource Management for over 35 years, particularly in industrial relations and OH&S. He retired from the ABC as Head of Industrial Relations in April 2011, having previously worked in the Commonwealth Public Service (DEEWR) and the BHP Port Kembla Steelworks. He now has a consultancy specialising in HR/IR. Don implemented many major change projects at the ABC over the last 20 years. He has a continuing interest in supporting young people through public education having involvement in School Councils, P&C and various schools based projects, and is interested in continuing this through community based projects. Don is also a board member for the Marrickville Youth Resource Centre.

Member| Chris Gambian

Chris Gambian has worked for the Finance Sector Union for 16 years before starting his own consultancy business, and has since taken a role with the Community and Public Sector Union.

MEMBER | Stuart Slough

Stuart has been working in the field of art and culture for over a decade, working in Wollongong as well as at the community based art centre Garage Graphix in Blacktown. Stuart, in partnership with artist Graham Chalcroft, established and ran the public art and design business Placebo Cultures between 1998 and 2004. Stuart worked in Tim Carroll’s position as Arts Officer when Tim was overseas in the second half of 2004. Stuart is now the Cultural Planner at Wyong Shire Council.

SECRETARY | Marie Kannan